Saturday, December 11, 2010

No, Not R2-D2

So, back during Christmas in July, I shared a track by Kenny Baker, making some joke about R2-D2 made a Christmas record (or at least one that didn't feature Meco).  Well, then earlier this season, I shared a collection that had a Christmas song by Mr. Baker, probably dating from some time in the early to mid-50s.  Well, now I've got a whole album of Christmas music sung by Mr. Baker, and I'm sharing it with you.  When I found this earlier this year, I thought I'd found two Christmas LPs by Kenny, but upon close examination, they were different releases of the same music.  The one down there at the bottom of this post seems to be something he reissued on his own private label sometime after the one up top.  I don't have any dates on the second one, so if you have any idea, lemme know.  Turns out one of the sleeves had the wrong record in it, anyway, so it's a good thing they both featured the same tunes.  This is Kenny Baker-Carols For Christmas From Kenny Baker (International Records LP 5125 (AKA Christmas Carols From Kenny Baker-Kenart LP KA-6), Mono, 1958).

1. O Holy Night
2. Joy To The World
3. Medley-It Came Upon A Midnight Clear and Hark, The Herald Angels Sing
4. Angels We Have Heard On High
5. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
6. The First Noel
7. Good King Wenceslas
8. Silent Night
9. While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks By Night
10. Medley-Away In A Manger and O Come All Ye Faithful
11. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
12. White Christmas
13. Deck The Halls and Carol Of The Shepherds
14. Jingle Bells



John W said...

You are de man. Thank you for all the great...and not so great...postings! Your work is appreciated!

Buster said...

Kenny Baker was quite a good singer. I have any number of his records.