Friday, December 21, 2018

More Richard

I almost forgot about this one, but thankfully I remembered it in time to get it up right after that last Richard Ellsasser I posted a minute ago. (And there is another Ellsasser Christmas record out there, but I don't have it.  I'll stumble across it, don't you worry.  Someday...)  This one is a seasonal effort, a series of tunes written by Michael Carr, something I first shared with you in 2008, remastered in 2012, and re-encoded for you tonight.  To be honest, the song titles are the best part of this album, the rest of it is just organ music like you've heard a hundred times before from me this year, only on songs you aren't familiar with, so that makes it a tough listen.  But if you're up for it, this is Richard Ellsasser-Michael Carr's Wintertime Suite (MGM E3284 (Richard Ellsasser Playing The Organ of the John Hays Hammond, Jr. Museum, Gloucester, Massachusetts), Mono, 1955).

1. King Winter
2. Happy Fat Man (With A Sleigh Full Of Toys)
3. Winter In Mexico
4. Home For Christmas
5. Winter Setting
6. December Has A Warm Heart
7. Red Indian Snowman
8. Eight Very Busy Little Reindeer
9. Star In The East
10. Holly And Ivy And Mistletoe
11. Jack Frost, Incorporated
12. Ring In The New Year



Kwork said...

More organ? If I must. :) Thank you.

Buster said...

I'll be on the lookout for that early Ellsasser record for you - I've never seen it.