Friday, December 21, 2018

Red Rheims

This one's a little esoteric, but I wanted to throw it up here for the collectors and archivists out there.  I believe this is the earliest version of I've ever seem on the ubiquitous Robert Rheims Christmas albums.  If you look close, there is no label on the jacket or the record.  That later was changed to Rheims Records, who later licensed it to Liberty and eventually United Artists.  There's also a note on here mentioning that a Stereo (and BIN-Aural!) version is available from Bel Canto on tape. This would date it to before the advent of stereo albums. And on top of that, there's an insert with a short message and lyrics to all the songs. Pretty cool to an obsessive like me, but to most of you, this is just another organ & chime Christmas record, though it is pressed on pretty red vinyl  This is Robert Rheims-Merry Christmas Carols (No Label LP-6006 (Red Vinyl), Mono).  And if you want a little more, there's a 10" version with some different tracks here.

1. Adeste Fideles-O Come All Ye Faithful
2. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
3. God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen; From Every Spire On Christmas Eve
4. The First Noel; Joy To The World
5. Deck The Halls; The Christmas Chimes Are Pealing
6. Away In A Manger; I Saw Three Ships
7. Silent Night
8. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
9. Good King Wenceslas; Angels We Have Heard On High
10. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear; O Christmas Tree
11. We Three Kings Of Orient Are; I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day
12. O Holy Night



Buster said...

I had never seen the 10-inch version, but this one I have seen. I remember the cover because it is so dated-looking for the mid-50s LP.

Kwork said...

Thank you much!