Saturday, December 24, 2016

John Is Back

Here's another remaster for you, sneaking in just under the wire.  I first shared out a mono copy of this record in 2006, then found a stereo copy in 2007 with a different cover and different track sequence.  Tonight I'm bringing it back in it's original order with it's original cover and in glorious stereo!  I've always thought this was one of the great Christmas covers, so I'm always excited when I see it.  You may even think it looks familiar since I ripped it off for one of my Best-Of Christmas covers a few years ago.  This particular copy happens to be a Canadian pressing and it included multiple copies of the singalong insert with the lyrics to all the songs! (I scanned one of them, it's in the download.)  As near as I can tell, all issues of this record were for the RCA Record club, so that goes a ways towards explaining it's relative scarcity today.  If all this talk makes you want to listen, please download and enjoy The John McCarthy Chorale-Merry Christmas Sing Along (RCA Victor (Canada) LSP-2476, Stereo, 1961).  Arrangements are by Hill Bowen, if that tells you anything.  I wonder if this ever came out as a regular issue in England where the recording originated?

1. Joy To The World
2. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
3. Silent Night
4. Good King Wenceslas
5. Oh Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles)
6. I Saw Three Ships
7. Pat-A-Pan
8. Ding Dong (Merrily On High)
9. Hark! The Herald Angels
10. The First Noel
11. We Three Kings Of Orient Are
12. Twelve Days Of Christmas
13. Angels From The Realms
14. Wassail Song
15. Jingle Bells



gimpiero said...

What a wonderful Christmas gift!!!
Thanks Ernie

jim said...

Great record, finally bought a copy of it earlier this year, love the ornament cover art too.

Kwork said...

Thank you very much. Merry Christmas!

Lennonka said...

Dear Ernie!

Can you reupload this album?

Thank you very much!

Ernie said...

New link for 2018!!RVF2RCQQ!NQKSYtPpe_7xheFAOcVOG_vWiFQK9mUdZuUO6zTDU0A