Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Leibert Three

This is the oldest Leibert I know of from RCA. It's actually a set of two 45 RPM 7" records in a little box. I suspect it came out in a 10" format as well, but I've never seen one. It's also the oldest example I have of his music, dating back to 1951. Unfortunately, mine didn't come with the word sheets advertised on the front of the box. I guess we'll never be able to join in the chorus. Well, I'm betting you know the words to at least some of these. Please download Sing And Rejoice! Christmas Carols Played by Dick Leibert At the Organ of the Radio City Music Hall New York City (RCA Victor EPB 3056, Mono, 1951). When did I first share this out? Oh, 2005.

1. Joy To The World-Away In A Manger
2. It Came Upon The Midnight Clear-Oh, Holy Night (Cantique De Noel)
3. Hark The Herald Angels Sing-Silent Night
4. The First Noel-As With Gladness Men Of Old
5. O Come All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles)-Oh Little Town Of Bethlehem
6. Angels From The Realms Of Glory-While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks
7. We Three Kings Of Orient Are-Good King Wenceslas
8. Deck The Halls With Boughs Of Holly-God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Hey Ernie,

According to my research, this set was originally recorded and released in 1948, as an album of four 78s (RCA Victor P-196), disc numbers 20-2965 through 20-2968.

In 1949, RCA Victor released it as a box of 45s (WP-106).

In 1951, RCA Victor released this EP set you have shared here.

It does not appear to have been released on 10" LP. On the back of the Three Suns Present Your Christmas Favorites 10" LP (LPM 52, released 1951), this Leibert set is listed only in 78 & 45 formats.