Wednesday, November 28, 2018

The Other Bradley's Back

Might as well go ahead and share out this other Owen Bradley Christmas LP while I'm at it.  I think this was first shared 'round these part a full ten years go back in 2008!  I don't have to tell you anything about Owen Bradley, especially since you just learned a little bit in my last post.  This one is a little less exciting than the previous one because it's just him, no quintet.  But don't let that stop you from giving it a try.  This is Owen Bradley-Organ And Chimes Played By Owen Bradley (Coral CRL 57071, Mono, 1956).

1. We Three Kings Of Orient Are
2. It Came Upon The Midnight Clear
3. Silent Night
4. O Holy Night
5. The First Nowell
6. Joy To The World
7. Deck The Halls
8. Ring Out The Bells-The Bells Of Christmas
9. The Birthday Of A King
10. O Come All Ye Faithful
11. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
12. Away In A Manger



Buster said...

This appears to be the 12-inch expansion of a 10-incher called Christmas Time with Organ and Chimes, dated 1950 (CRL 56012). The first two songs on side 1 and the last two on side 2 have been added. The cover is different and much more attractive than the portrait of Bradley on the 10-inch.

Ernie said...

Really? Don't think I've ever seen that one. Owen Bradley had his hands in such classic music, yet his Christmas releases leave something to be desired...

Buster said...

Yeah, the 10-inch is just as dull as the 12-inch. I was disappointed when I heard it years ago.

Kwork said...

I'll try it.

JustaJeepGuy said...

That's kind of a weird picture on the cover. That's not a sleigh, it's some... other sled-like thing, but not a sleigh. What the huh??

Ernie said...

I think it flattens out the snow, making a smoother path for the real sleighs and whatnot. But I don't know, I've lived my whole life in a state with no snow. :)